## Honored Excellence recognized during annual Cattle Industry Convention.

Producers, advocates, students and organizations representing the beef industry were recognized through a variety of scholarship and award programs during the annual Cattle Industry Convention & NCBA (National Cattlemen's Beef Association) Trade Show, convened Feb. 1-3, 2023, in New Orleans, La.

The Environmental Stewardship Award Program (ESAP), which annually recognizes outstanding stewardship practices and conservation achievements of cattle producers, honored seven regional winners for 2022, including:

- Region I: Lamb Farms Inc., Oakfield, N.Y.
- ▶ Region II: Carter Cattle Co. LLC, Pintlala, Ala.
- Region III: Huth Polled Herefords and S&H Livestock Enterprises LLC, Oakfield, Wis.
- ▶ Region IV: Parks Ranch, Goliad County, Texas
- ► Region V: Mannix Bros. Ranch, Helmville, Mont.
- ► Region VI: Fulstone Ranches, Smith, Nev.
- ► Region VII: Jorgensen Land & Cattle Partnership, Ideal, S.D.

ESAP is sponsored by companies and federal agencies who share the cattle industry's commitment to the environment and protecting natural resources. The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Corteva Agriscience, McDonald's and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service partner with NCBA to promote environmental stewardship throughout the beef supply chain.

The National Beef Quality Assurance (BQA) Awards, funded in part by the Beef

Checkoff program and sponsored by Cargill, annually recognize outstanding beef and dairy producers, marketers and educators. Winners not only demonstrate high-quality animal care and handling principles as part of their day-to-day operations, but also express a strong desire to continually improve their operations through BQA. The 2023 honorees include:

- ► Cow-Calf Award: Wilson Flying Diamond Ranch, Nebraska;
- ► Dairy FARM Award: Temme Agribusiness, Nebraska;
- ► Feedyard Award: Darr Feedlot, Nebraska;
- Educator Award: Tom Noffsinger, Nebraska; and
- ► Marketer Award: Fresno Livestock Commission, California.

W.D. Farr Scholarships. Colorado State University graduate students Ashley Schilling of Timnath, Colo., and Lane Giess of Pierz, Minn., were each awarded a \$15,000 W.D. Farr Scholarship. The scholarship program, established by the National Cattlemen's Foundation (NCF) in 2007, recognizes outstanding graduate students who plan to pursue careers furthering the beef industry. Schilling and Giess were selected from 21 applicants based on their academic achievements, leadership and commitment to the advancement of the beef industry.

CME Group Beef Industry Scholarships. Ten students pursuing careers in the beef industry were awarded \$1,500 scholarships by the NCF. The CME Group Beef Industry Scholarship program recognizes talented and thoughtful students emerging as industry leaders. The 2023 recipients include:

HOTO BY ZIMMCOM

- ► Leah Allen of Steamboat Springs, Colo., University of Wyoming
- ► Lauren Butler of Mancos, Colo., New Mexico State University
- ► Bryce Hoeltzel of Olsburg, Kan., Allen Co. Community College
- ► Kirby McNeill of Pleasanton, Texas, Texas A&M University
- ► Lily Mitchell of Boscobel, Wis., South Dakota State University
- ► Macy Moore of What Cheer, Iowa, Iowa State University
- ► Ashlyn Ochsner of Kersey, Colo., Texas Tech University
- Colter Petre of Helena, Mont., Montana State University
- ► Weston Schrader of Wells, Kan., Kansas State University
- ▶ Paige Wood of Fullerton, Neb., Kansas State University

Masters of Beef Advocacy Program Advocate of the Year honors were bestowed on Tucker Brown of Throckmorton, Texas, for his creative use of storytelling across social media platforms, along with continuing his family's legacy as a sixthgeneration cattle rancher. This award, given annually by the NCBA's Beef Checkofffunded Masters of Beef Advocacy (MBA) program, recognizes an outstanding beef advocate for success in engaging consumers who want to learn more about beef and raising cattle.

The Trailblazers program, funded by the Beef Checkoff, was established in 2021 to identify, train, equip and empower the next generation of advocates in the beef community. During a yearlong program, 10 elite advocates develop the necessary tools to facilitate quality conversations and help safeguard the work of producers, ranchers and cattlemen across the United States.

- The 2022 Trailblazers include:
- ► Kacy Atkinson, Wyoming;
- ► Jonathan Black, West Virginia;
- ▶ Brianna Buseman, Nebraska;
- ► Haley Ammann-Ekstrom, Minnesota;
- ► Markie Hageman-Jones, California;
- ▶ Marya Haverkamp, Kansas;
- ► Natalie Jones, Nebraska;
- ► Shaye Koester, North Dakota;
- ▶ Sebastian Mejia Turcios, California; and
- ▶ Jaclyn Wilson, Nebraska. ABB

March 2023