# Stay Informed

Industry leaders encourage producers to stay informed and involved in the beef industry.

"There is a lot of education, a lot of fellowship, a lot of fun, a lot of entertainment, a lot of inspiration and a lot of policy-making at this convention, and I thank you for your input," said Scott George, president of the National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) as he welcomed attendees to the first general session of the 2014 Cattle Industry Convention.

The past year has been a journey, Scott said, noting the third-longest government shutdown in U.S. history, Farm Bill detours and NCBA's opposition due to mandatory countryof-origin labeling (mCOOL), and reauthorization of the Animal Drug User Fee Act.

Additionally, he mentioned the World Organization of Animal Health (OIE) upgraded the United States' bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) status to negligible, the highest available. This adds



to already growing global beef export markets. He added that continued work with the Five Nations Beef Alliance, which includes the United

States, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and Mexico, is continuing its work to eliminate trade barriers.

Weldon Wynn, 2013 chairman of the Cattlemen's Beef Board (CBB), said he is honored to represent the cattle industry's "self-help program," the beef checkoff. He advised cattlemen to stay informed and get the word out on the benefits of the checkoff. There is plenty of misinformation about it, Wynn noted, and it is up to everyone to correct those errors.

The CBB completed cuttingedge research on beef cuts, beef safety and quality assurance, and issues management to address misinformation about the beef



The Cattlemen's Beef Board members elected Kim Brackett, Idaho, 2014 CBB chairman.



National Cattlemen's Beef Association members elected Bob McCan, Texas, as their president during meetings at the 2014 Cattle Industry Convention.

industry. Due to consumer research, Wynn explained that all marketing efforts will shift to digital marketing to expand the reach and access the millennial generation (see "Moms, Millennials and More" in the newsroom at *www.4cattlemen.com*).

"Change can be scary, but I have faith in our market research to guide us in the right direction" he asserted.

The Federation celebrated its 50-year anniversary in 2013, and its grass-roots direction helps strengthen beef demand, he said.

Barbara Jackson, president of the American National CattleWomen Inc. (ANCW), highlighted the organization's committee restructure to put more focus into beef promotion, youth development and legislation. She emphasized that the ANCW promotes synergy with other industry organizations.

"To promote beef to some degree of success, we must work together," she said.

A record-setting number of more than 8,200 cattlemen attended the industry's convention. This year's convention participants heard from industry leaders, gathered insight on industry trends, met with their fellow cattlemen, and enjoyed a night at the Grand Ole Opry in the heart of Nashville.

### **Officers elected**

A new team of officers was elected for each organization by the end of the 2014 Cattle Industry Convention.

## American National CattleWomen

The new ANCW officer team includes Patti Buck, Colorado, president; Melanie Fowle, California, president-elect; Ann Nogan, Pennsylvania, vice president; Jo Stanko, Colorado, recording secretary; and Barbara Jackson, Arizona, past president.

Completing the 2014 Executive Committee are: Region I director, to be determined; Region II director, Michelle Boyles, North Carolina; Region III director, Penny Zimmerman, Minnesota; Region IV director, Desta Crawford, Texas; Region V director, Jeannie Kiehn, Washington; Region VI director, Suzanne Menges, Arizona; Region VII director, Judy Reece, Nebraska; chairwoman of the board, Evelyn Brown, Alabama; and parliamentarian, Susie Magnuson, Colorado.

# Cattlemen's Beef Board

The CBB elected Kim Brackett, Idaho, CBB chairman; Jimmy Maxey, California, vice chairman; and Anne Anderson, Texas, secretary-treasurer.

The 11-member CBB Executive Committee includes Maxey, chairman of the Executive Committee; Brackett; Anderson; Dean Black, Iowa; Laurie Bryant, an importer; Barbara Jackson, Arizona; Mike McCormick, Mississippi; Brett Morris, Oklahoma; Laurie Munns, Utah; Kent Pruismann, Iowa; and Gary Sharp, South Dakota.

The Executive Committee is responsible for carrying out CBB policies and conducting business, and for making decisions necessary to administer the terms and provisions of the Act and Order between meetings of the full board.

The Beef Promotion Operating Committee (BPOC) was created by the Beef Promotion Research Act to help coordinate state and national Beef Checkoff Programs. The 20-person committee includes 10 members appointed from the Federation of State Beef Councils.

CBB members elected to the 2014 Beef Promotion Operating Committee include Brackett; Maxey; Anderson; Marty Andersen, Wisconsin; Sarah Childs, Florida; Dave Edmiston, Texas; Linda Gilbert, South Dakota; Ted Greidanus, California; Brittany Howell, Kansas; and Hank Maxey, Virginia.

# Federation of State Beef Councils

The Federation of State Beef Councils, a contractor to the Beef Checkoff Program and national home of state beef councils, is a division of the NCBA. Cevin Jones, a cattle feeder from Eden, Idaho, was elected chair of the Federation of State Beef Councils. Elected vice chair was Jennifer Houston of Sweetwater, Tenn.

As chair of the Federation, Jones will serve as vice chair of the BPOC, which recommends beef checkoff projects funded at the national level. Houston will also serve on that committee. Approval of BPOCrecommended projects and budgets is required by the CBB and the USDA.

In addition to Jones and Houston, other Federation members of the BPOC for 2014 are Austin Brown III, Texas; Clay Burtrum, Oklahoma; Dawn Caldwell, Nebraska; Teri Carstensen, Iowa; Jerry Effertz, North Dakota; Steve Hanson, Nebraska; Scott McGregor, Iowa; and Irv Petsch, Wyoming. Retiring as Federation regional vice presidents were Houston, Region II, and Jane Frost of New Mexico, Region VI. Replacing them were Donna Jo Curtis of Alabama and Linda Brake of Arizona, respectively.

### National Cattlemen's Beef Association

NCBA Officers are Bob McCan, Texas, president; Philip Ellis, Wyoming, president-elect; Tracy Brunner, Kansas, vice president; Richard Gebhart, Oklahoma, treasurer; Craig Uden, Nebraska, policy division chair; Kevin Kester, California, policy division vice chair; Forrest Roberts, Colorado, CEO; and Scott George, Wyoming, past president.



**Editor's Note:** This article contains information compiled from the Angus Journal's online coverage of the 2014 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show, which is available online at www.4cattlemen.com.